Geography of Tibet

Tibet is a rich and beautiful land is terms of its nature and unspoiled culture. Tibet is located in south-West frontier of China. Tibet is bounded by Sichuan, Yuannan, Qinghai and Xinjiang on the north; India, Nepal, Sikkim, Bhutan and Burma to the east and south and Kashmir on the west.

Geographically, Tibet can be divided into three parts, the east, north and south. The eastern part is forest region, which has occupied 25% of the Tibet Land. Virgin forests run the entire breadth and length of this part of Tibet. The northern part is open grassland, where nomads Nomad and yak and sheep dwell in this part of Tibet. This part has occupied approximately 50% land of Tibet. The southern and central part is agricultural region which occupied 25% land of Tibet. With all major Tibetan cities and towns such as Lhasa, Shigatse, Gyantse and Tsetang located in this part of Tibet, it is considered as the cultural center of Tibet. The total area of the Tibet Autonomous Region is 1,200,000 square kilometers and its population is 1,890,000. The region is administratively divided into one municipality and six prefectures. The municipality is Lhasa, while the six prefectures are Shigatse, Ngari, Lhaoka, Chamdo, Nakchu and Nyingtri (kongpo). The Peoples Government of the Tibet Autonomous Region exercises the highest administrative authority in Tibet.

Certificate & Partners

Read Reviews